American Academy of Sanitarians

## 34th Annual

## Davis Calvin Wagner Award

CAPT Charles S. Otto, III (Ret.)



NEHA Award Ceremony and AAS Annual Business Meeting: NEHA AEC Spokane, WA

June 30, 2022

#### The Davis Calvin Wagner Award

The Davis Calvin Wagner Award represents the highest honor the American Academy of Sanitarians bestows upon a Diplomate. The Award is conferred for exceptional leadership ability, professional commitment, outstanding resourcefulness, dedication and accomplishments in advancing the Sanitarian profession and public health programs.

The **Davis Calvin Wagner Award** was established by the American Academy of Sanitarians in 1980 as a result of a bequest from the late Carruth J. Wagner, M.D. (1918 – 2002). This award is to honor the memory of his deceased brother, Davis Calvin Wagner. Dr. Wagner made an additional bequest in 1999 to ensure the perpetuity of the award fund.

Dr. Wagner had a long and distinguished career in preventive medicine and public health. He served four U.S. presidents: Dwight Eisenhower, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson and Richard Nixon. He held the Public Health Service Rank of Assistant Surgeon General. In his remarkable career he served as Director of the Bureau of Health Services and Chief of the Division of Health Mobilization. In 1962, at the height of the Cuban Missile Crisis, Wagner was responsible for health mobilization in the event of nuclear, biological or chemical warfare. He served as Director of the Indian Health Service; he also held the position of Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Throughout his career, he championed and advocated for the Sanitarian profession, he felt that Sanitarians are a leading and vital member of the public health team. He was noted for his appointment of exceptionally qualified Sanitarians to key positions in federal public health programs. Dr. Wagner was dedicated to the education and training of health professionals and established a number of scholarships for medical and nursing students. His legacy of providing scholarships is continued through the Carruth J. Wagner Foundation.

The recipient of the Davis Calvin Wagner Award is presented with a plaque and an honorarium at the Academy's Award reception that is held at the Annual Educational Conference of the National Environmental Health Association.

#### 2022 Recipient CAPT Charles S. Otto (Ret.)

In 1974, CAPT Otto began his professional career with the Mobile County Health Department Bureau of Environmental Health as an Environmental Health Specialist and soon became the Division Director of the second largest local environmental health program in the State of Alabama. In 1978, he went to work for the Alabama Department of Public Health as a Public Health Environmentalist. In 1987, CAPT Otto was commissioned as an Environmental Health Officer in USPHS in Washington, D.C. He first served as an Assistant Director of the FDA's Retail Food Protection Branch where he would oversee the training of thousands of inspectors at the local, state, and federal level on food protection and on the team that developed the modern retail 1993 USPHS / FDA Food Code. He then became the Assistant Director of the FDA's Division of Cooperative Programs where he developed national Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) implementation strategies for retail food protection, interstate travel program, milk safety and shellfish sanitation programs, managed the development of FDA Electronic Inspection System (FDA EIS). the prototype of many computerized food inspection programs, and created FDA PRIME Connection, that put FDA resources at the fingertips of over 8,000 users. He was one of two national primary standards for the interpretation and application of Food Code for over 3,500 jurisdictions with more than 50,000 inspectors. In 1995, CAPT Otto became a Regional Public Health Consultant for the National Park Service where he provided technical assistance on a wide variety of environmental health programs, including the national implementation of Food Code and FDA EIS, from wilderness to fine dining venues in NPS. USPHS transferred him to CDC's Vessel Sanitation Program in 1998 where he conducted inspections, investigated disease outbreaks, worked on construction projects, and published a new comprehensive environmental health Operations Manual which included global implementation of Food Code on cruise ships. In 2002, CAPT Otto became the CDC's Environmental Health Services Branch Innovation Team Leader where he initiated and/or supported the training of tens of thousands local, tribal, and state Environmental Health Specialists in EHTER (Environmental Health Training in Emergency Response), EPHOC Online (Environmental Public Health Courses), and EHS-Net (Environmental Health Specialist Network). In 2011, CAPT Otto returned to the Vessel Sanitation program as Deputy Chief where he served until his USPHS retirement in 2017, when he started OTTO III REHS / Reliable Environmental Health Services, a global consulting practice. CAPT Otto's legacy to the future of Environmental Health comes from his almost 50 years of supporting our most important front-line environmental health practitioners, championing evidence-based practices, and creating accessible innovative environmental health training.

# American Academy of Sanitarians Davis Calvin Wagner Award Recipients

CAPT Charles S. Otto (Dat)	2022
CAPT Charles S. Otto (Ret)	2022 2020
Dr. Sheila Davidson Pressley (Posthumously)	
CAPT Michael M. Welch	2019
Dr. Herman "Hank" Koren	2018
CAPT John P. Sarisky	2017
CAPT Wendy Fanaselle	2016
CAPT Jeffrey J. Smith	2015
Brian K. Collins	2014
Stephen R. Tackitt	2013
CAPT Craig A. Shepherd	2011
CAPT Thomas E. Crow	2010
George M. Nakamura	2009
Harry E. Grenawitzke	2007
Prof <mark>essor Joseph E. Be</mark> ck	2006
Dr. Ginger L. Gist	2005
Gary E. Coleman	2004
Dr. Welford C. Roberts	2002
James J. Balsamo Jr.	2001
CAPT Gary P. Noonan	2000
COL Anthony Aiken	1999
Dr. Franklin Carver	1997
Dr. Robert W. Powitz	1996
RADM Webster Young	1995
Charles Dee Clingman	1993
CAPT Bruce R. Chelikowsky	1992
Professor Worley Johnson, Jr.	1991
George A. Kupfer	1990
CAPT Dale H. Treusdell	1988
Richard A. Moats	1987
CAPT Geswaldo A. Verrone	1985
Larry J. Gordon	1984
RADM John G. Todd	1983
John P. Nordin	1982
Richard L. Roberts	1981