American Academy of Sanitarians Annual Meeting Minutes Atlanta, Georgia June 22, 2009 11:30 AM – 2:45 PM

Welcome and Introductions - Gary Coleman, Chairman

The meeting was called to order by Gary Coleman and members in attendance introduced themselves. New Diplomates were recognized: Dennis B. Killian, Michael A. Pepe, and LCDR Randy J. Boylstein. The agenda and past minutes were reviewed, accepted, and approved.

Secretary and Treasure's Report - Gary Noonan

- <u>Financial Report</u> –The Annual treasurers' report and financial statement was reviewed and approved. The Academy expressed their deep appreciation to NSF and UL for their contributions and generous support.
- Results of Voting for Board Members Gary Noonan
 Jim Balsamo, Darrel Barnet, and Craig Shepherd's terms on the board concluded and Brian
 Collins, Chuck Treser, Vince Radke, Stephen Tackitt have been elected to replace them. A
 motion was approved to accept the results of the election.
- Result of Survey on paying dues via Pay Pal –

A survey was conducted to determine if members were interested in paying dues through a Pay Pal option on the Academy web site. This option will simplify and streamline the dues process. Two to one responded that they would like to pay on-line, this option has been added to the web site.

Combining application and certification fees proposal

The Academy has handled membership applications and certification as two applications. To simplify the process, a motion was made to combine the two and charge one fee. The result would be a \$25 application and certification fee. The motion carried.

Wagner Award - Gary Noonan

The award committee was honored with the selection of George Nakamura as this years Wagner Award winner. The award is presented at a reception with USPHS awards. The USPHS award committee has made a bigger production of their awards, the AAS award committee will work on a more formal presentation to maintain parity with the USPHS award presentations.

Credentialing Committee Report – Bob Powitz

The credentialing process is now electronic and is working well.

A motion was made to recognize four Diplomate Emeritus members who have excelled in the profession: Joe Verrone, Jerold Michael, Dick Clapp, and Jack Hatlin.

A motion was to tabled grant Dr. Frank Bryan an honorary Diplomate status. Honorary Diplomate is extended to individual who have made significant contributions to the profession

but are not eligible for Academy membership. The question was raised that Dr. Bryan may be eligible for membership which makes him in-eligible for honorary membership.

Crumbine Award - Ron Grimes

There were two applications this year, a lower number than in past years. The committee deliberated and the Columbus Ohio Health Department was selected.

Scholarships Awards - Jim Balsamo

A summary of the award winners was reviewed and appreciation was extended to the committee that assisted in reviewing and selecting the award winners.

The committee found some of the applicants were not from environmental health/sanitarian programs. A discussion by Academy members reinforced the sentiments of the scholarship committee that scholarship support should go to applicants from environmental health/sanitarian programs.

A motion was made to revise the scholarship criteria to stipulate that undergraduate criteria would go to students from an EHAC accredited program and the student's plan to pursue a career in environmental health as a practicing sanitarian; and graduate candidates pursue a career in public health. The academy request a joint NEHA/AAS ad hoc committee be formed to review and revise the scholarship criteria. The motion carried.

NEHA's contribution to the scholarship fund diminished again this year. It has continued to be a struggle to maintain the NEHA contribution to the scholarship award. The sentiment of the Academy is that in a \$5 million NEHA operating budget, and a monthly report of NEHA members contribution to the scholarship fund, NEHA should be able to commit to \$1,000 for the scholarship.

The Academy members had a vigorous discussion about NEHA's commitment to the scholarship. A motion was made and carried for the Academy not to separate from NEHA on the scholarship fund. Brian Collins volunteered to take the lead to resolve the matter with NEHA, Brian will report by January. Wilford Roberts, Keith Krinn, and Brian Collins recued themselves from the vote due to their holding offices in NEHA.

Old Business

Membership Directory – Harry Grenawitzke

Last chance was offered to make your corrections to update and finalized the AAS membership directory.

New Business

AAS Website - Charles Otto

The AAS website is up to date.

Larry Gordon's Archive is being transferred to the site from their current hosting location.

Dr. Herman (Hank) Koren, has contributed his papers to include on the web site. Help is also needed to put active member's papers on line. There are more papers than Charles Otto can catalog and post with his volunteer time. The academy discussed options for resolving the problem. A motion was made and carried to set aside \$2000 to catalog the collection.

The question of responsibility for clearing copyright for posted papers. It was resolved that copyright waivers for published papers are the responsibility of the authors.

Nominating Committee

Chuck Treser, Keith Krinn, and Brian Collins volunteered to serve on a nominating committee.

Sponsorship of PAC website – Alan Dellapenna

Alan Dellapenna, Chair of the USPHS Environmental Health Officer's Professional Advisory Committee (EHOPAC) requested support from the Academy to host the (EHOPAC) website. Changes in government regulations have made it very difficult to maintain the site under a government account. The EHOPAC is looking for an independent partner in the profession to partner with to host the site. The Academy and the EHOPAC have many common members, have jointly hosted an annual awards reception and have many professional interests in common. The Academy can gain visibility among new professionals through a hosting relationship.

A motion was carried for the AAS to sponsor a website for the Environmental Health Officers Professional Advisory Committee EHOPAC Web site for up to \$200 per year.

Academy History – Tony Akin

A draft of the history of the academy has been prepared and will be distributed to a committee for review.

A motion was also made to tape and interview senior academy. members. A motion was made to form a committee to record history of early academy members with Alan Dellapenna, Tony Akin, Charles Otto, and Michele Samarya-Timm.

Bob Powitz has offered his instrument collection to a school or institution seeking instruments. His only stipulation is receiving institutions pay the freight.

NEHA 2nd VP Candidates Addressed the Academy

Diplomate Michele Samarya-Timm, asked the members of the Academy to support her candidacy

Alicia Enriquez, also sought support of her candidacy.

Chair-Elect nominations and voting

Dr. Robert Powitz was nominated and voted in as chair-elect, he will take over as Chair at the next meeting in Albuquerque in 2010.

Adjournment