The Davis Calvin Wagner Award

The Davis Calvin Wagner Award represents the highest honor the American Academy of Sanitarians bestows upon a Diplomate. The Award is conferred for exceptional leadership ability, professional commitment, outstanding resourcefulness, dedication and accomplishments in advancing the Sanitarian profession and public health programs.

The **Davis Calvin Wagner Award** was established by the American Academy of Sanitarians in 1980 as a result of a bequest from the late Carruth J. Wagner, M.D. (1918 – 2002). This award is to honor the memory of his deceased brother, Davis Calvin Wagner. Dr. Wagner made an additional bequest in 1999 to ensure the perpetuity of the award fund.

Dr. Wagner had a long and distinguished career in preventive medicine and public health. He served four U.S. presidents: Dwight Eisenhower, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson and Richard Nixon. He held the Public Health Service Rank of Assistant Surgeon General. In his remarkable career he served as Director of the Bureau of Health Services and Chief of the Division of Health Mobilization. In 1962, at the height of the Cuban Missile Crisis, Wagner was responsible for health mobilization in the event of nuclear, biological or chemical warfare. He served as Director of the Indian Health Service; he also held the position of Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Throughout his career, he championed and advocated for the Sanitarian profession, he felt that Sanitarians are a leading and vital member of the public health team. He was noted for his appointment of exceptionally qualified Sanitarians to key positions in federal public health programs. Dr. Wagner was

dedicated to the education and training of health professionals and established a number of scholarships for medical and nursing students. His legacy of providing scholarships is continued through the Carruth J. Wagner Foundation.

The recipient of the Davis Calvin Wagner Award is presented with a plaque and an honorarium at the Academy's Award reception that is held at the Annual Educational Conference of the National Environmental Health Association.



2020 Recipient Dr. Sheila Davidson Pressley

Dr. Pressley began her professional career in 1989 after receiving a Bachelor of Science Degree in Environmental Health (EH) Science from Western Carolina University under the tutelage of the late Professor Joe Beck. The early jobs of Dr. Pressley established her broad technical foundation. In 1995, she received a Master of Science in Civil and Environmental Engineering (Tufts University) and jobs that followed honed her program management and leadership skills. In 2004, Dr. Pressley took a faculty position with the Eastern Kentucky University (EKU) Department of Environmental Health. She advanced through the ranks of Assistant, Associate, and Full Professor positively influencing the profession and the lives of many young emerging professionals. Dr. Pressley was highly appreciated by students because she always found time to mentor and help them pursue their career. An EKU colleague noted, "this legacy will be felt and seen for years to come in the faces of our students." A former student shared that Dr. Pressley was "a living and sterling example of the concepts of paying it forward and making a place better than before." In 2003, Dr. Pressley helped lead the National Environmental Health Diversity Recruitment Task Force, a collaborative effort between EKU and the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and she helped expand the vision nationally as the National Council on Diversity in Environmental Health. In 2010, while teaching at EKU, Dr. Pressley earned the Doctor of Public Health Degree (University of Kentucky). In 2014, she became the Master of Public Health Program Director for the College of Health Sciences (CHS). She continued to advance becoming the Associate Dean (2015) and Dean (2018), leading eight (8) departments and continuing to excel as an administrator. She led CHS "during a challenging time while maintaining a uniquely positive attitude towards faculty, staff, and particularly students." Dr. Pressley was known and respected nationally through her activities in several professional organizations including the American Academy of Sanitarians, National Environmental Health Association, and others. She always insured that EH students were a focus. Dr. Sheila D. Pressley truly reflected qualities that are in keeping with the finest traditions of the Sanitarian and Environmental Health profession.

American Academy of Sanitarians Davis Calvin Wagner Award Recipients

Dr. Sheila D. Pressley (Posthumously)	2020
CAPT Michael M. Welch	2019
Dr. Herman "Hank" Koren	2018
CAPT John P. Sarisky	2017
CAPT Wendy L. Fanaselle	2016
CAPT Jeffery J. Smith	2015
Brian K. Collins	2014
Stephen R. Tackitt	2013
CAPT Craig A. Shepherd	2011
CAPT Thomas E. Crow	2010
George M. Nakamura	2009
Harry E. Grenawitzke	2007
Professor Joseph E. Beck	2006
Dr. Ginger L. Gist	2005
Gary E. Coleman	2004
Dr. Welford C. Roberts	2002
James J. Balsamo Jr.	2001
CAPT Gary P. Noonan	2000
COL Anthony Aiken	1999
Dr. Franklin Carver	1997
Dr. Robert W. Powitz	1996
RADM Webster Young Jr.	1995
Charles Dee Clingman	1993
CAPT Bruce R. Chelikowsky	1992
Professor Worley Johnson, Jr.	1991
George A. Kupfer	1990
CAPT Dale H. Treusdell	1988
Richard A. Moats	1987
CAPT Geswaldo A. Verrone	1985
Larry J. Gordon	1984
RADM John G. Todd	1983
John P. Nordin	1982
Richard L. Roberts	1981



American Academy of Sanitarians 33rd Annual Davis Calvin Wagner Award

Dr. Sheila Davidson Pressley



AAS Award Presentation

(Virtual)

Date: TBD