The Davis Calvin Wagner Award

The Davis Calvin Wagner Award represents the highest honor the American Academy of Sanitarians bestows upon a Diplomate. The Award is conferred for exceptional leadership ability, professional commitment, outstanding resourcefulness, dedication and accomplishments in advancing the Sanitarian profession and public health programs.

The **Davis Calvin Wagner Award** was established by the American Academy of Sanitarians in 1980 as a result of a bequest from the late Carruth J. Wagner, M.D. (1918 – 2002). This award is to honor the memory of his deceased brother, Davis Calvin Wagner. Dr. Wagner made an additional bequest in 1999 to ensure the perpetuity of the award fund.

Dr. Wagner had a long and distinguished career in preventive medicine and public health. He served four U.S. presidents: Dwight Eisenhower, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson and Richard Nixon. He held the Public Health Service Rank of Assistant Surgeon General. In his remarkable career he served as Director of the Bureau of Health Services and Chief of the Division of Health Mobilization. In 1962, at the height of the Cuban Missile Crisis, Wagner was responsible for health mobilization in the event of nuclear, biological or chemical warfare. He served as Director of the Indian Health Service; he also held the position of Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Throughout his career, he championed and advocated for the Sanitarian profession, he felt that Sanitarians are a leading and vital member of the public health team. He was noted for his appointment of exceptionally qualified Sanitarians to key positions in federal public health programs. Dr. Wagner was dedicated to the education and training of health professionals and established a number of scholarships for medical and nursing students. His legacy of providing scholarships is continued through the Carruth J. Wagner Foundation.

The recipient of the Davis Calvin Wagner Award is presented with a plaque and an honorarium at the Academy's Award reception that is held at the Annual Educational Conference of the National Environmental Health Association.

2019 Recipient CAPT Michael M. Welch

In 1984, CAPT Welch began his professional career with the state of Tennessee as a Field Environmental Health Specialist and soon advanced to a leadership position managing a 12county district with a 60,000-service population from 1987-1990. In 1990, CAPT Welch received his USPHS call to active duty and reported to Dillingham, AK serving environmental health needs of 5,000 residents in 32 remote Alaska Native villages. During his four years in Dillingham he managed a comprehensive environmental health program of 12 staff and an \$500K/year operating budget to meet the Indian Health Service (IHS) mission. In 1994, CAPT Welch transferred to the Phoenix Area IHS, first as the Western Arizona District EHO, and then, as the region's Director of the Division of Environmental Health Services. During the USPHS's Hurricane Katrina response effort, CAPT Welch served as Environmental Health Officer Team Leader, he deftly managed a multi-disciplinary group of Environmental Health, Engineer and Nurse Officers, this resulted in over 320 facility assessments completed and the safe re-opening of over two hundred of those facilities. In 2007 CAPT Welch assumed his current position as Associate Director of the Office of Environmental Health and Engineering (OEHE) for the Phoenix Area IHS where he manages 95 staff, a \$9M/year operating budget, and \$42M/year in healthcare facility and sanitation projects. CAPT Welch leads OEHE's three divisions Environmental Health Services, Sanitation Facilities Construction, and Facilities Engineering. From 2009-2013, CAPT Welch had the high honor of serving as the USPHS Chief Professional Environmental Health Officer. Serving additionally as CPO Board Chairman, he developed a uniform message conveyed across the Corps emphasizing public service over self service. Throughout his long career as a public servant, CAPT Welch has dedicated himself to serving the underserved, preventing illness and injury as a frontline environmental health professional, and improving the Nation's health through public health leadership. CAPT Welch epitomizes the strengths of the environmental health professional as a technical expert, self-less public servant, effective program manager, and inspiring leader.

American Academy of Sanitarians Davis Calvin Wagner Award Recipients

CAPT Michael M. Welch	2019
Dr. Herman "Hank" Koren	2018
CAPT John P. Sarisky	2017
CAPT Wendy L. Fanaselle	2016
CAPT Jeffery J. Smith	2015
Brian K. Collins	2014
Stephen R. Tackitt	2013
CAPT Craig A. Shepherd	2011
CAPT Thomas E. Crow	2010
George M. Nakamura	2009
Harry E. Grenawitzke	2007
Professor Joseph E. Beck	2006
Dr. Ginger L. Gist	2005
Gary E. Coleman	2004
Dr. Welford C. Roberts	2002
James J. Balsamo Jr.	2001
CAPT Gary P. Noonan	2000
COL Anthony Aiken	1999
Dr. Franklin Carver	1997
Dr. Robert W. Powitz	1996
RADM Webster Young Jr.	1995
Charles Dee Clingman	1993
CAPT Bruce R. Chelikowsky	1992
Professor Worley Johnson, Jr.	1991
George A. Kupfer	1990
CAPT Dale H. Treusdell	1988
Richard A. Moats	1987
CAPT Geswaldo A. Verrone	1985
Larry J. Gordon	1984
RADM John G. Todd	1983
John P. Nordin	1982
Richard L. Roberts	1981

American Academy of Sanitarians 32nd Annual

Davis Calvin Wagner Award CAPT Michael M. Welch



AAS/USPHS Awards Reception:

Gaylord Opryland Resort

and Conference Center

Nashville, TN

July 9, 2019 7:30 to 9:30 PM

Magnolia Mezzanine Level; Davidson A